Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /www/sites/375/b5a/www.tuonoworld.com/web/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
First to second gear change problem
tuonoworld.com
August 25, 2019, 02:32:25 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:   yes sir
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: First to second gear change problem  (Read 247 times)
Soapy
Fudlet
**
Posts: 9


« on: July 23, 2019, 09:29:51 pm »

Hi chaps

I have recently bought a 2006 Tuono and love it. There is a problem when changing up from first to second, it rarely goes in first time and leaves me fumbling around trying to get into gear, I usually whack it down into first again and then it seems to shift to second slightly easier. Apart from that the gear box feels fine. It's not that it grinds gears, it feels more like a block of steel there, nothing, and then third or fourth try it goes click, straight in. Clicks through the gears OK when the engine isn't running and you can change without using the clutch but I find the same problem. Any ideas?
« Last Edit: July 23, 2019, 09:30:35 pm by Soapy » Logged
Vinny
Mega Fud
*****
Posts: 2349



« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2019, 10:43:14 pm »

May be a daft idea but I remember the gear change becoming less slick when the chain needed adjustment.

Also generally changing up the gears is fine but going down the way needs the clutch always.
Logged
Yoozy
Nobs immature. I'm an adult.
A-Team
*****
Posts: 8767


Extreme Mancunian.


« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2019, 11:41:59 pm »

Gotta be butch with em.
Logged

A GUT FULL OF ALE AND A HEAD FULL OF MAGIC



Pretty agile for a fat lad.
hector
Super Fud
****
Posts: 976


Blow me !


« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2019, 05:35:04 am »

Usually the problem is getting it into neutral........................

The fluid is black. Remove master cylinder top and loosen the nipple then refill with new fluid letting new fluid flow through the line until clear at the nipple.  Lock up, lid on and work the lever a few times .

Just a thought , how are your levers set and is there any leakage  ?????
Logged
Soapy
Fudlet
**
Posts: 9


« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2019, 06:39:40 pm »

Hector

There has been a lot of leakage recently, there was a split in the pipe to the reservoir on the handle bars when I bought it. I found another rservoir and pipe and fitted it so it may well need bleeding through. Good call. I am not sure what you mean by how are my levers set?

Cheers. Soapy
Logged
hector
Super Fud
****
Posts: 976


Blow me !


« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2019, 07:03:57 pm »

Old levers with a cable idea, when you pull the lever the other end of the cable pulls the clutch plates apart  (whatever) allowing the gear box to be disconnected .

If the cable is to long ie. too slack then the cable is not doing it`s job ,(sorry about this I don`t mean to be condescending ) ??????????????

, Is there enough pull on the levers , max distance from bars.

Piston and seals in master ..., are they OK ?
Logged
wileecoyote
Mega Fud
*****
Posts: 1674



« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2019, 08:18:36 pm »

Did this year suffer from the undersized oil jet? 
Logged

Wile E. Coyote, Super Genius
ACME Race Team, Chief Rider/Mechanic
NO WINS, cant get around them anvils2012 Aprilia Tuono "Valentina"
1989 FZR 1000  "PITA"
2008 Ducati Hypermototard
MagnetMan
Mega Fud
*****
Posts: 1115



« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2019, 09:25:39 pm »

Clutch slave cylinder?
Logged
Tifa
Master Fud
******
Posts: 4273


I AM THE TIMELORD


« Reply #8 on: July 28, 2019, 02:01:28 am »

Gotta be butch with em.

This.
Aprila V2's like to know you're the boss.
More boot action required.
Don't be shy.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!